Invincible Lee Pyung Kang – Preview

New drama UPDATE!

KBS drama Invincible Lee Pyung Kang – starring Nam Sang Mi, Ji Hyun Woo, Seo Do Young and Cha Ye Ryun.

ilpk

The drama is about the love-hate relationship between 2 people whose fates have been reversed from their previous lives to become the opposite of each other in the contemporary world.

Nam Sang Mi plays the spoiled and bratty Princess Lee Pyung Kang in the old days whom in her present life becomes a poor but aspiring golf course designer; whilst Ji Hyun Woo plays the honest and good-natured General On Dal in the old days who in turn in his present life turns into a cold and sharp-tongued chae-bol, son of a rich tycoon. Both of them detest each other at first sight, bicker with each other until no end, but gradually fall in love with each other (you know, all the typical Korean drama cliches). Little do they know that fate had a say in their lives and that they’re actually destined to be with each other….?

~~~~~~~

So, that’s basically it. A very typical Korean drama – re-using some of the most common cliches ever as a plot device.  Rich guy falls for poor girl? How worst can that get (in Kdrama land of course)? And PLUS, look at the scriptwriter.  The one who wrote Cain and Abel, the disastrous medical/thriller? drama which I’d amazingly followed from the beginning till the end (tho I love SJS and HJM). How is it possible to endure another crapstatic script by the writer? The PD, Lee Jung Sub isn’t any better, altho he actually directed one of my fav fav fusion dramas, Capital Scandal. Hong Gil Dong was just forgettable to that extent for me (tho SO MANY ppl loved it), the direction was blerrhh.

However, here’s the BIG BUT!

I admit I have a soft spot when it comes to attractive cast and hilarious setups in  a drama. I do like Nam Sang Mi a lot as an actress. And Ji Hyun Woo’s cuteness is just like icing on top of the cake.  Moreover, the trailer boasts of something really different as the cast attempt to pull off a modernized dance in an ancient setting. It does look kinda slapstickish…but if I could bear with Capital Scandal, I think I can live with this one. ^_^

This drama premiers 9th November 2009, on a Mon-Tues slot.

3 thoughts on “Invincible Lee Pyung Kang – Preview”

  1. Puahaha, I was just thinking to myself that this drama reminds me a lot of Hong Gil Dong, no wonder.

    I’m strangely looking forward to this one. It could easily end up being a hot mess, but I do like NSM and JHW and despite the hugely cliched summary, I’m sort of hoping that at least it would be better executed.

    Oh, and also, I’m now SO SO looking forward to Lee Junki’s Hero. Ji Changwook, the uber cutie in Sol Pharmacy, is going to be in there!!!!! Let’s hope he’ll have lots of screentime.

    1. Right, when I saw the preview, I thought of Hong Gil Dong too. lolz… And yeah, it does have the potential to become a hot stinkin’ mess, but I’m willing to give it a try for NSM and JHW. 🙂

      On HERO, not so intrigued by it atm. But I know I’ll watch it anyway in the end. I may not be a fan of LJK, but no doubt his previous dramas have been entertaining and enjoyable. Let’s hope this one makes it thru for me..

      Meanwhile, I already have my calendar marked for CHUNO’s premier on 6th Jan 2009!! SQUEEE!!!

Leave a Reply

