Ha Ji Won transforms into Korean Angelina Jolie?

Yup, that’s very Angelina Jolie right?

But heck, I  don’t care about the copying stuff…I’m just glad that Ha Ji Won is back to drama for good. And in a KICK-ASS fashion!

SBS has just released new stills of Ha Ji Won’s character in Secret Garden, an upcoming drama helmed under the winning writer-PD combo, Kim Eun Seok and Shin Woo Chul who’d recently just brought to us the very popular City Hall starring Kim Sun Ah and Cha Seung Won.  And look at her, she’s totally bringing that whole dun-mess-with-me-I-dun-give-a-damn-bout-you thing in stride eh?

The drama is supposedly about a queer relationship between a stunt-woman (Ha Ji Won) and a typical rich chaebol/boss of a company (Hyun Bin).  Which may I explain, involves the trascending between fantasy and reality and switching of bodies between the 2 people!! o_0 What the heck is that?  Sounds odd right?

I’m not entirely sure that they’d stick to that premise… or if they do, I doubt viewers would be able to buy into those bizarre elements? Modern dramas rarely venture into that region, well, save for ancient dramas (whereby flying, superstition..etc) are exceptions. But again, it’s Kim Eun Seok and Shin Woo Chul we’re talking about…  With them on-board,  we’re assured to have a good feast of heartfelt and witty lines. Let’s hope they’re able to make this whole fantasy thing believable…

Ha Ji Won’s probably one of the main reasons apart from the writer-PD combo why I’m gonna check this drama out. I prayed hard that she would take up this drama when rumors  floated around that she was considering the script a while ago..(but again back then, it was because Jang Hyuk was slated to play the lead and I wanted so much for them to work together T___T).  She’s one of very few actresses out there capable of pulling off action, romance and comedy and not just that, but always with style and charisma. And no doubt, she’s gonna do it again here. Expect her to kick all our asses and yet at the same time, make us fall hard for her. She’s just that kind of actress.

And as for the main guy Hyun Bin. I have no single  doubt he’s gonna pull this role off, and with ease.  He’s done it before in My Name is Kim Sam Soon, and he’s had a tougher and more complex role in Friend, Our Legend that this one just seems like ABC in comparison. Though I confess I would have loved it more if Jang Hyuk was on board, can’t cry over spilled milk forever right? Hyun Bin’s been picking pretty solid projects ever since MNIKSS, and I believe this would be no exception if he does it right (which I believe he will).

What’s left for us to ponder – how will the Hyun Bin-Ha Ji Won tandem fare?

They look good together for sure.

3 thoughts on “Ha Ji Won transforms into Korean Angelina Jolie?”

  1. Now that I’ve seen the drama, I’m sort of glad the role fell to Hyun Bin. The downside is that he just looks too young to be a CEO, whereas Jang Hyuk would’ve fit better. But that same boyishness works really well when portraying the comical side of Joowon.

    Still tho, to think that we were THIS close to seeing Jang Hyuk portraying a girl, lol. I miss Jang Hyuk in a fun character like in Please Teach Me English or Windstruck, his roles recently have been more mature.

Leave a Reply

