Reminiscing Damo through Kim Bum Soo

Watched an episode of Win Win featuring legendary ballad singer Kim Bum Soo yesterday. And was instantly reminded of his heart-wrenching ballad “Song of Sorrow” in Damo. Immediately tears started forming in my eyes, with scenes of Chae Ok and her 2 men Naeuri and Jang Sung Baek playing in my head. Ahhh.. the heartbreak and desolation. The tears that I’d shed T__T thruout.

I remember vividly that I was Team Rebel up until the beach scene towards the very end of the drama. When her Naeuri sacrificed himself for her. Gahhhh… my heart instantly switched sides. Poor Chae Ok, poor Naeuri. They had all the opportunity to face their feelings they had for each other in the beginning, but fate had to intervene, she met Rebel Leader.

Their “love” was doomed to fail, right from the beginning. Set apart by blood-relation there was no way they could have ended up together. But my heart pumped  so fast and hardfor them, when they stared at each other, cared for each other and ached for each other. They were wrong, in every sense of the word. People said they were attracted to each other for they had an inborne blood connection, but I thought otherwise. Their attraction was of man and woman, attraction of the opposite. Their connection deeper and more sensual than the norm. They loved each other.

Their relationship and attraction was taboo, disturbing to many and even disgusting to some. But I’d never once felt bothered by their sibling relationship, and rooted for them from beginning to the end (beach scene). In the end, it’s about a man and a woman’s love for each other in spite of all circumstances, right or wrong, ethical or not. It’s unacceptable, but I believe, most of us understood.

As I rewatched their scenes together, my heartstrings again, tugged like no other. Altho I did switch teams in the end, my heart still aches whenever I think about how they yearned and pained for each other. About how they could have been better off in a world of their own, and only theirs alone.

I could never in a million years write about the awesomeness of Damo. And a dear friend ockoala did an amazing review that I think noone could ever touch. The brilliance of the drama articulated with eloquence that I could never reach.

Through Kim Bum Soo’s earth-shattering voice, I give you Damo. The heartbreak and torment of love which had brought tears to everyone’s eyes, and which  I believe would most definitely do so to those who’d never attempted the drama.

A drama that nobody should ever miss.

EVER.

3 thoughts on “Reminiscing Damo through Kim Bum Soo”

  1. I hear you chinggu, this Damo OST ( which is in my fave playlist) Never fails to bring me back to Chae Ok’s pained feelings and emotional turmoil towards the two men. Listening to this song in particular triggers my heart towards the cherry blossom scene, when Naeuri was nursing her wounds, I knew then I was team Naeuri. Then came the cave scene with JSB. It was dark but beautifully shot. I was torn into pieces like Chae Ok, I became Team Rebel. Ottoke? How can a drama do this to me. And the ending, just the thought of it and listening to its soundtrack travels me back to the ache in my heart when I first watched it.  My top if not my fave sageuk of all time. It was only 14 episodes but it was just perfect. It wasn’t rushed.  Beautiful cinematography, plotwise and all. Also because of Damo, I became a Ha Ji Won fan. Kdrama gods should make more sageuks like this, CitC is one.

    1. Cave scene! I think my heart nearly fell out from all the sexual tension and intensity in that scene. It was the most bittersweet scene of all, discounting the beach scene and ending scene. Team Rebel or Team Naueri, aigooo… so hard to choose T_T

      Another heartbreaking scene, if I recall correctly, was the scene where Chae Ok saw Jang Sung Baek kill the lady in the sack? He was pressured to kill her because everyone told him it’s Chae Ok and she needed to be eliminated or something? [Please correct me if I’m wrong] omg, my heart broke into pieces in that scene.>_< I cried like a baby. Chae Ok ah…..

  2. I was Team Naeuri since the cherry blossom scene too. I totally understood why Chae Ohk fell for Rebel Leader, but my heart bleeds first for Naeuri and then Chae Ohk. Sung Baek lost me when he killed the lady in the sack. I know he knew it wasn’t Chae Ohk, but still he killed an innocent person.

Leave a Reply

