LDH and Jang Hyuk aim to strike 3rd time charm?

I am seriously boggled by this news. Like seriously boggled.

Lee Da Hae and Jang Hyuk again, their 3rd collaboration in 5 years. Their 3rd! o_____0 I mean it’s fine by me that both of them are coming back to drama land (since I adore them both and absolutely loved them in Robbers and Chuno). But this is so freaking insane and unbelievable in the most ridiculous sense, WTH is this?!!! I mean, how often do you get recurring OTPs in your K-dramas? It’s been historically proven to be impossible (at least in my 15 yrs of K-drama watching)! Now really? A 3rd?

When the rumors spread on last week, I tossed it aside, taking it with a grain a salt, thinking that it would never materialise. I actually secretly wished that it wouldn’t come true because I didn’t like the idea of IRIS2, thought IRIS was a bling-mess of boredom and nothing else even with Lee Byung Hun and honestly hoped that LDH could work with another male co-star this time around. I love JH with all my heart and he has good chemistry with LDH, no doubt about that, but this is just… boring?

The good thing however is that this is going to be a new challenge for LDH. IMO she doesn’t have the fitness or physique to do action. I’ve followed her long enough to know her frailty and feminine characteristics, so it’s natural that I’d be doubtful of her being able to tackle something which she obviously isn’t cut out for. But I’m definitely looking forward to see how she’ll tackle role which requires her to be tough, gruff and fit. She may not be a Ha Ji Won, and may not even reach the level of decency doing tough like Kim So Yeon or Kim Tae Hee, but we’ll see. I’m not expecting much, it’s curiosity more than anything now.

The idea of an IRIS 2 never sat well with me in the first place, given that the 1st one never sank deep an impression on me. It’s bound to have such a huge cast ensemble, that screen time will be divided and plot will be all over the place. Acting will most likely be undermined and overshadowed by bling and action. It will be a machismo driven drama that nothing subtle or nuanced would or can be emphasised on. Unless they get a solid writer or PD to do this, I’m almost positive this will be a style over substance package.

But holy, they’ve got a HUGE cast line-up planned out for the drama. Just like its predecessors IRIS an Athena, it’s nailed some really big names (even some from the original and spin-off). Production company Taewon just announced today the list of actors who are confirmed to join or rather, are in talks to join the mega build up. Lee Da Hae, Jang Hyuk, Kim Young Chul, Kim Seung Woo, Daniel Henney, Oh Yeon Soo, Kim Min Jong, Im Soo Hyang, Lee Joon (Mblaq), Kang Ji Young (KARA), Doo Jun (Beast) and a possible Kim So Yeon as well (as mentioned in some of the articles,  she will join right after The Great Seer ends but I don’t think it will materialise). Now that’s one HUGE line-up, doesn’t matter how true, but it’s pretty much confirmed that the production company’s aiming high (perhaps a lil too high?).

Some news reports also outlined the premise of the plot and characters, but I’m not buying anything because apparently Taewon is still sourcing for a script and potential filming locations. The rumored gist is however as follows:

  • Jang Hyuk will play Yoo Geon Il, a former cop switched to NSS leading Team A of NSS.
  • LDH will play Ji Su Yeon, a champion shooter (really?!! LOL) and an important member of the team.
  • Oh Yeon Soo will play vice chief of NSS.
  • Im Soo Hyang will play an assassin who is part of IRIS.

Filming is scheduled to start in October and will most likely air in February 2013.

Why am I not the least excited? :/

credits: naver news/ krdrama.com/ LDH baidu

7 thoughts on “LDH and Jang Hyuk aim to strike 3rd time charm?”

  1. Errrrrrrr. WORD. I desperately want LDH to comeback to dramaland but not in An IRIS franchise. That drama sucked (well if not for KSY-LBH part of the arc). I really dunno how to feel about this. On the other hand, like the roster of stars they’re bringing in. If the story sucks they might as well just make LDH make out with every guy there just to tick them off of my LDH pairing list.

    1. Hahaha, LDH has had her time with JH in the past.. maybe this time Daniel Henney? If I’m not wrong she’d actually chosen him as her ideal man or something in a game show Sweet Night or something… girl probably confirmed because of JH (you know how much our girl likes and respects JH) and DH lol

  2. Thanks dear for the post as always 😉

    OOH I am having so much fun these days reading all those posts and comments of people shocking from the news about the drama sequel, the third time pairing and LDH casting for such role 😀

    Personally I don’t mind to see those two together again, I actually love it. They just have that special appeal for me.

    I am really curious why it is really rare and shocking in K Entertainment to have such repetitive pairing (in case they have this undeniable chemistry). As I know it is something that is done every where in the world. I may mention some of my favorites (Joe Cheng & Ariel Lin – Shahrukh khan & Kajol – Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan) ????

    Also what interest me the most is that at last I can see LDH doing some action 🙂 and I really admire her for taking this kind of role which so far from her image. She is already aware and mentioned before to Chinese fans that she is afraid that she is weak and her body may not be suitable for this kind of roles but she is ready to try it anyway and get out from her comfort zone. So, I am ready to see how she can deal with this challenge 🙂

    Don’t get my previous words that I am excited about the story or the drama itself. NO 🙂 as I actually don’t like or even try to watch this kind of action spy dramas and that is the very reason I didn’t watch IRIS or ATHENA (which I read some recaps and reviews about that left me disappointed). But you know me, I can watch anything for LDH 😀

    1. The recurring OTP phenomena is very common in other countries but not so in Korea. I can’t remember a recurring OTP in my 15 years of K-drama watching other than Lee Jung Jin and Su Ae (twice).. some may have collaborated many times but not as OTPs. JH and LDH, 3 times, that’s saying something.

      I think it’s good that LDH’s taking a chance at something new, something which is so not her, but somehow I’m not just that excited much. IRIS was boring, Athena terrible, here there isn’t anything more than the blingy cast to keep me interested. And with that cast, can you imagine the compromise required to cater to all them? Some of them may not be big huge stars or good actors, but heck, they’re all KNOWN names in the industry.

      But oh wellz, at least I get to see LDH kick ass?

      I think it’s good that LDH’s taking a chance at something new, something which is so not her, but somehow I’m not just that excited much. IRIS was boring, Athena terrible, here there isn’t anything more than the blingy cast to keep me interested. And with that cast, can you imagine the compromise required to cater to all them? Some of them may not be big huge stars or good actors, but heck, they’re all KNOWN names in the industry.

      But oh wellz, at least I get to see LDH kick ass?

  3. i was also surprised of the team-up… you’re absolutely right… it’s almost impossible to see k-celebs to be paired again and again…how i wish it was Lee Dong Wook she was being paired with instead of Jang Hyuk… and how i wish she chose a romantic-comedy instead….

    1. Dun see a realistic chance for a LDW-LDH collab, just think they’ve moved on good from My Girl. I’d like to see a Lee Jun Ki-LDH pair up tho..;)

Leave a Reply

